Comeback

Posted: September 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

I took a break from writing. I was caught up doing the many things life throws at us as each day proceeds. I’ve become the king of procrastination. In a bid not to seem like I was loosing focus, I informed myself that I was taking a break from writing.

During this mini ‘hiatus’, I have evaluated what it is that makes me write. Its simple really, I see something, I have an opinion, I think about something, I want to share. Talking to Tolu the other day (I seem to mention him a lot right?) and he urged me to write and never stop. He gave me an instance of a mutual friend taking a break and loosing his ‘modjo’ as a result.

I paused for a minute and replied, Nah I never planned to post every day, just as my spirit leads. Thing is every day I go out, I’m faced with the many things life has on show, and I am inspired to write. From the street urchin to the bus conductor, the gentleman attending to me in a store to my account manager. I wrote a couple of posts that got quite a few comments and I really paused to evaluate why I write. Is it for the adulation? for fame? am I required to become a particular kind of writer?

I really started writing in earnest after meeting a man on the flight to my granddad’s burial, he told me that he liked reading on the plane because it was the only time he got to have peace. I was privileged to travel to and fro Lagos during that period quite a number of times and I started to write on the plane but I figured that if something happened, my writings and I will vanish without a trace and I wanted that book to be the legacy I have at this stage in my life.

So, I’m going to keep writing and posting as I choose because this is my legacy. I’m going to write for the street urchin, for the presidential aspirant, the politics I believe in, for my ideologies, my pain and joy, my blessings.

I’m back from my break, let’s see if I’ve lost my modjo. Call it a Comeback.

Leave a comment